PAMA, William Perkins Bull fonds, series 8, file 970
Ernest Victor Hare was born on December 18, 1894 in Port Credit, Ontario to Walter Charles Hare, a butcher, and his wife, Mary Ann Naish. Walter was the son of Charlie Hare, and lived for several years in the Naish-Hare House at the corner of Lakeshore Road and Helene Street.
Mississauga Library System, Historic Images Gallery
Ernest enlisted on March 20, 1916 at Toronto. He had no previous military experience. On his attestation form he was described as 5 feet 6 inches tall with a fair complexion, hazel eyes and brown hair. He was given regimental number 775998 and assigned to the 126th Overseas Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Force.
Ernest was wounded in the war. He married Edith May Somers in the parish of Charlton, Holy Trinity, London, England in 1919 and they returned to Port Credit the same year.
Ernest, known as “Ernie”, purchased the Hamilton Store and Post Office at 71 Lakeshore Road East from C. G. Hamilton in 1921. He served as postmaster from 1921 to 1934, during which time the new Post Office building was built.
Ernest died on July 12, 1957 and is buried in Springcreek Cemetery.
Hare Family Gravestone